The IPRM Award (formerly the Michael Lunn Award)

Nomination for the IPRM award has been closed.

The award winners will be announced at the award ceremony on June 27th.

The Michael Lunn Award was established in 1993 to commemorate a young research scientist at Wafer Technology Ltd. who became a victim of a car accident. Awardees were chosen by the organizing committee of IPRM on behalf of the III-Vs Review magazine. The award was given for the best paper presented at IPRM in the first three years following its introduction (1993-1995). The criteria were subsequently revised in 1996 to recognize individuals who have made "outstanding contributions to the InP community". In 2007, the award was renamed the IPRM Award and has since been sponsored by the IPRM international steering committee.

Previous Recipients of the Michael Lunn Award

1993  Mitsuo Yamamoto, Norio Yamamoto and Junichi Nakano 1994  Theodore Thrush
1995  Dubravko Babic 1996  Tony Jones
1997  Joe Lorenzo 1998  Holger Jurgensen and staff at AIXTRON
1999  Jerome Faist 2000  Shigehisa Arai
2001  Gregory H. Olsen 2002  Dwight Streit
2003  Hideki Hasegawa 2004  Drew Nelson
2005  Tomohiro Kawase and Masami Tatsumi 2006  George Antypas

Previous Recipients of the IPRM Award

2007  Osamu Wada 2008  Andre Scavennec
2009  Mark Rodwell 2010  Hajime Asahi
2011  F. J. Tegude 2012  Brad Boos
2013  Yuichi Matsushima 2014  Abderrahim Ramdane
2015  Larry Coldren       

The CSW Best Student Paper Award

The CSW Best Student Paper Award was established for students who present their work as speakers or poster presenters. The awards are open only to students who are officially registered at a university by the abstract submission deadline. Awardees will be selected by members of the program committee based on abstract content and presentation quality. Student award applicants are strongly encouraged to attend the award ceremony in the closing session.

The CSW2016 Program Committee has selected the following three students as the recipients of the CSW2016 Best Student Award. Congratulations!

Takuya Inoue
Kyoto University
"Two-wavelength Switchable Narrowband Thermal Emitters"

Bernhard Loitsch
Walter Schottky Institut, Technical University of Munich
"Quantum Confinement Phenomena in Ultrathin GaAs Nanowires"

Daisuke Inoue
Tokyo Institute of Technology
"10 Gbps Operation of Membrane DFB Laser on Silicon with Record High Modulation Efficiency"