The ISCS 2016 Awards

Nomination for the ISCS awards has been closed.

The award winners will be announced at the award ceremony on June 27th.

The International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors is the venue for presentation of three prestigious prizes. The awards to be made are:

  • The Welker Award
  • The Quantum Devices Award
  • The Young Scientist Award

The recipients of all three Awards will be selected by the ISCS Award Committee.

The Welker Award was established in 1976 by Siemens AG in honor of Heinrich Welker, the pioneer in the field of III-V compound semiconductors. The award is now supported by Osram GmbH and given away for outstanding research in the area of III-V compound semiconductors. The list of the recipients includes three Nobel Laureates.

The Quantum Devices Award was initiated by Fujitsu Quantum Devices Ltd. in 2000, and is now sponsored by the Japanese section of the ISCS steering committee. The Award honors pioneering contributions to the field of compound semiconductor devices and quantum nanostructure devices including physics and epitaxial growth.

The Young Scientist Award is supported by the Symposium. Established in 1986, the Award acknowledges technical achievements in the field of compound semiconductors by a scientist younger than 40 years on the first day of the Symposium.

Nominations for the Awards
Please submit nominations for the three awards to the Chair of the ISCS Award Committee, Prof. Yasuhiko Arakawa, by May 1st, 2016.


The nominations must include:

  1. All of the information requested on the nomination form (see the file below)
  2. Candidates' full resume
  3. Letters of endorsers (maximum of three). Endorsement letters should be sent by the nominator together with the nomination form and the candidates' full resume. Any letters sent separately will not be received.

Previous Recipients of the Welker Award

1976  Nick Holonyak, Jr 1978  Cyril Hilsum 1980  Hisayoshi Yanai
1981  Gerald L. Pearson 1982  Herbert Kroemer 1984  Izuo Hayashi
1985  Heinz Beneking 1986  A.Y. Cho 1987  I. Alferov
1988  Jerry M. Woodall 1989  Don W. Shaw 1990  Greg Stillman
1991  Lester F. Eastman 1992  Harry C. Gatos 1993  James Turner
1994  Federico Capasso 1995  Isamu Akasaki 1996  Ben G. Streetman
1997  M. George Craford 1998  Takashi Mimura 1999  Claude Weisbuch
2000  James S. Harris 2001  Karl Hess 2002  Hiroyuki Sakaki
2003  Klaus Ploog 2004  James J. Coleman 2005  Hans Melchior
2006  Marc Ilegems 2007  Kenichi Iga 2008  Gunter Weimann
2009  Daniel Dapkus 2010  Pallab Bhattacharya 2011  Yasuhiko Arakawa
2012  Umesh K. Mishra 2013  Tom Foxon 2014  Gerald Bastard
2015  Dieter Bimberg 2016  Joe C. Campbell       

Previous Recipients of the Quantum Devices Award

2000  Emilio E. Mendez and Gerald Bastard 2001  Leo P. Kouwenhoven, Mark A. Reed and Seigo Tarucha
2002  Yasuhiko Arakawa 2003  Pallab Bhattacharya
2004  Jean-Pierre Leburton 2005  Pierre Petroff
2006  Carlo Sirtori 2007  Umesh K. Mishra and James S. Speck
2008  Jean-Michel Gerard 2009  Joe Charles Campbell
2010  Chennupati Jagadish 2011  Alan C. Seabaugh
2012  David Gershoni 2013  Yoshiro Hirayama
2014  Connie Chang-Hasnain 2015  Marius Skolnick
2016  Kazuhiko Hirakawa       

Previous Recipients of the Young Scientist Award

1986  Russell D. Dupuis 1987  Naoki Yokoyama 1988  W.T. Tsang
1989  Russ Fischer  1990  Yasuhiko Arakawa 1991  Sandip Tiwari
1992  Umesh K. Mishra 1993  Kai Chang 1994  Michael A. Haase
1995  John D. Ralston 1996  Nikolai Ledentsov 1997  Fred Kish
1998  Steven P. DenBaars 1999  Jerome Faist 2000  Kohki Mukai
2001  Masahiko Kondow 2002  Diana Huffaker 2003  Mike Larson
2004  Toshihide Kikkawa 2005  Nils Weimann 2006  Andrea Fiore
2007  Masataka Higashiwaki 2008  Jonathan J. Finley 2009  Seth R. Bank
2010  Tomás Palacios 2011  Yoshitaka Taniyasu 2012  Debdeep Jena
2013  Sanjay Krishna 2014  Huili (Grace) Xing 2015  Zetian Mi
2016  Srabanti Chowdhury              

The CSW Best Student Paper Award

The CSW Best Student Paper Award was established for students who present their work as speakers or poster presenters. The awards are open only to students who are officially registered at a university by the abstract submission deadline. Awardees will be selected by members of the program committee based on abstract content and presentation quality. Student award applicants are strongly encouraged to attend the award ceremony in the closing session.

The CSW2016 Program Committee has selected the following three students as the recipients of the CSW2016 Best Student Award. Congratulations!

Takuya Inoue
Kyoto University
"Two-wavelength Switchable Narrowband Thermal Emitters"

Bernhard Loitsch
Walter Schottky Institut, Technical University of Munich
"Quantum Confinement Phenomena in Ultrathin GaAs Nanowires"

Daisuke Inoue
Tokyo Institute of Technology
"10 Gbps Operation of Membrane DFB Laser on Silicon with Record High Modulation Efficiency"